Time Trials

Just as it has for many years, the Club organised the annual Good Friday 22 Mile Hilly Time Trial, this year organised by Clive Wilkinson. 2018 Winner Phil Williams of Liverpool Phoenix CC set a new course record of 43:44, the first rider ever to average over 30mph on the course, beating JLT Pro rider Ian Bibby into second place in the process. Fastest Junior went to George Higgins of Birkenhead North End CC with a time of 50:38.

George Higgins on the Start Line, 2018

The Club also staged the Jack McAllister Memorial 25-Mile Time Trial in July, organised by John Owens. The event was won by Hamish Bond (AeroCoach) who set a new course record with a time of 47:31.

The club also joined forces with Birkenhead Victoria CC, Chester Road Club and Port Sunlight Wheelers to host a series of 10-mile time trials from April through August.

~ Ian Clarke 10, 2018

Longstanding club member Keith Boardman once again organised his popular series of 5-mile time trials in Willaston in August.

A Group of Members after a ‘5’, 2018

Youth Rider Adam Smith took the TLI National Time Trial Title for his age category this year on a hilly course in North Wales, including 2 ascents of the Horseshoe Pass.

Adam Smith on his way to the National Title, 2018

West Cheshire Time Trial Cycling Association (WCTTCA)

BNECC is affiliated to the WCTTCA. For information about WCTTCA qualifying events see: www.WCTTCA.co.uk

Adam Smith in his National Champs Jersey, 2018

Stuey Hannah at an Interclub 10, 2018

Nicole Clarke at an Interclub 10, 2018